Edwardian Farm | Knowledge.ca
Edwardian Farm
Ep: 1 "Edwardian Farm"
Historian Ruth Goodman and archaeologists Alex Langlands and Peter Ginn step back in time to experience the trials and tribulations of life on an Edwardian farm at the turn of the 20th century. Setting up home at Morwellham Quay in Devon, the intrepid trio will learn new skills and crafts using only the tools and materials available at the time. They'll explore the challenges posed by the British countryside at a time of great change and tumult; when farming was becoming increasingly mechanized at home, and abroad the world was moving gradually towards war. Faced with tough challenges - from making deadly quicklime to restoring the farm's "pig sty privy" - Edwardian Farm shows just what can be achieved when people work together towards a common goal.
Episodes
Ep 1
Edwardian Farm
Watch Until March 13, 5:00pm
Ep 2
Edwardian Farm
Watch Until March 20, 5:00pm
Ep 3
Edwardian Farm
Watch Until March 27, 5:00pm
Ep 4
Edwardian Farm
Watch February 19, 4:00am
Ep 5
Edwardian Farm
Watch February 26, 4:00am
Ep 6
Edwardian Farm
Watch March 5, 4:00am
Ep 7
Edwardian Farm
Watch March 12, 4:00am
Ep 8
Edwardian Farm
Watch March 19, 4:00am
Ep 9
Edwardian Farm
Watch March 26, 4:00am
Ep 10
Edwardian Farm
Watch April 2, 4:00am
Ep 11
Edwardian Farm
Watch April 9, 4:00am
Ep 12
Edwardian Farm
Watch April 16, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Edwardian Farm Ruth, Peter and Alex devote a year of their lives to re-creating life in a 19th-century rural environment. In this episode, the team prepare for the arrival of their livestock, and Ruth cooks a sheep's head stew. (1 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Apr 3, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Ruth preserves supplies for the winter, Peter visits a cooper and Alex launches a chicken enterprise. (2 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Apr 10, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Ruth prepares for the arrival of the farm's pigs, while Alex and Peter plough the land. (3 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Sun Feb 25, 5:00pm
Tue Apr 17, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Alex and Peter follow in the footsteps of Tamar Valley farmers who traditionally took advantage of living between the North and South Devon coasts to profit from the county's other great industry - sea fishing. (4 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Feb 19, 4:00am
Sun Mar 4, 5:00pm
Tue Apr 24, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Alex and Peter go down a copper mine just a few hundred yards from their cottage, which was once the major source of Morwhellam Quay's wealth. Meanwhile, Ruth learns the art of lace-making in the town of Honiton. (5 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Feb 26, 4:00am
Sun Mar 11, 5:00pm
Tue May 1, 4:00am
Edwardian Farm
Alex, Peter and Ruth approach the half way point in their year on the Edwardian-era farm. This episode explores one single day in a typical Edwardian farmer's life. (6 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Mar 5, 4:00am
Sun Mar 18, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
The team takes their daffodil crop to the train station and gets to grips with the workings of the Edwardian steam-powered railway system. Alex and Peter fertilize the potato crop which requires ten tonnes of well-rotted horse dung. (7 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Mar 12, 4:00am
Sun Mar 25, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
It is April, and Alex and Peter go to sea in an Edwardian trawler. Meanwhile, Ruth explores one of the growing fashions of the Edwardian era by holding a seance. (8 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Mar 19, 4:00am
Sun Apr 1, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
It's May and, with Empire Day approaching, the paddle steamer, Monarch comes to the valley. (9 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Mar 26, 4:00am
Sun Apr 8, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
Alex, Peter and Ruth head up to Dartmoor to discover the ways in which Edwardian farmers took advantage of this unique landscape to add to their income. (10 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Apr 2, 4:00am
Sun Apr 15, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
Ruth tries her hand at salmon netting, while Alex and Peter take drastic measures to save their potato crop from being destroyed by blight. (11 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Apr 9, 4:00am
Sun Apr 22, 5:00pm
Edwardian Farm
The team's year on the farm is coming to an end, but first they must harvest their oat crop. (12 of 12)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Apr 16, 4:00am
Sun Apr 29, 5:00pm
Meet The Team
Ruth Goodman
Alex Langlands
Peter Ginn