Full Steam Ahead | Knowledge.ca
Full Steam Ahead
Alex Langlands, Peter Ginn and Ruth Goodman are riding the rails on an old-fashioned locomotive to learn how the golden age of steam transformed every aspect of British life – from trade and transportation to health and recreation. In each of the six episodes, they’ll set off down the line to a new part of the country, immersing themselves in the story of how the railways made Britain what it is today. They’ll certainly get their hands dirty as they stoke the engine, operate the signal box and learn how to run every aspect of a Victorian railway.
Episodes
Ep 1
Full Steam Ahead
Watch December 4, 8:00pm
Ep 2
Full Steam Ahead
Watch December 11, 8:00pm
Ep 3
Full Steam Ahead
Watch December 18, 8:00pm
Ep 4
Full Steam Ahead
Watch December 25, 8:00pm
Ep 5
Full Steam Ahead
Watch January 1, 8:00pm
Ep 6
Full Steam Ahead
Watch January 8, 8:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
Ruth Goodman, Alex Langlands and Peter Ginn reveal how the introduction of steam railways in the early 19th century changed Britain. (1 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Dec 4, 8:00pm
Sun Dec 10, 5:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
A look at how Victorian railways began to move people, rather than just goods around the country. (2 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Dec 11, 8:00pm
Sun Dec 17, 5:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
Ruth, Tom and Peter reveal how the railways transformed the British diet, saving a nation that struggled to feed itself. (3 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Dec 18, 8:00pm
Sun Dec 24, 5:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
At the National Railway Museum, Alex and Peter help get the Flying Scotsman into steam. With the railways opening up many new and interesting titled jobs, Ruth finds out what the role of the wheel-tapper entailed. (4 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Dec 25, 8:00pm
Sun Dec 31, 5:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
The team head to the South Devon Railway to explore the life of the branch line before the Beeching cuts of the 1960s. (5 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Jan 1, 8:00pm
Sun Jan 7, 5:00pm
Full Steam Ahead
The team find out how the combination of increased leisure time and affordable rail transport brought a new kind of freedom for working-class Victorians. (6 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Mon Jan 8, 8:00pm
Sun Jan 14, 5:00pm