Jazz | Knowledge.ca

Jazz

Jazz

Ken Burns' exuberant exploration of jazz, America's original art form, tracing jazz's evolution from 19th-century New Orleans through world wars, the Depression, and into the modern era.

Jazz - E1 - Gumbo
Jazz
E1
Gumbo
Expires on May 4

In the 1890s, African-American musicians combined Caribbean rhythms, opera, minstrel shows and marching bands with...

Jazz - E2 - The Gift
Jazz
E2
The Gift
Expires on May 11

The story of jazz becomes a tale of two cities, Chicago and New York, and of two extraordinary artists, Louis...

Jazz - E8 - Risk
Jazz
E8
Risk
Available on May 23

Jazz musicians explored the prosperity and tension of the post-war years in music. This underlying tension was...

Thu Apr 25, 9:00pm
E4 The True Welcome
Fri Apr 26, 12:00am
E4 The True Welcome
Thu May 2, 9:00pm
E5 Swing: Pure Pleasure
Fri May 3, 12:00am
E5 Swing: Pure Pleasure
Thu May 9, 9:00pm
E6 Swing: The Velocity of Celebration
Fri May 10, 12:00am
E6 Swing: The Velocity of Celebration
Thu May 16, 9:00pm
E7 Dedicated to Chaos
Fri May 17, 12:00am
E7 Dedicated to Chaos
Thu May 23, 9:00pm
E8 Risk
Fri May 24, 12:00am
E8 Risk
Thu May 30, 9:00pm
E9 The Adventure
Fri May 31, 12:00am
E9 The Adventure
Thu Jun 6, 9:00pm
E10 A Masterpiece by Midnight
Fri Jun 7, 12:00am
E10 A Masterpiece by Midnight