Waterfront Cities of the World
Season 4: Ep: 1 "Chicago"
What is it about waterfront cities that make them so appealing? Is it the scenic vistas of boats bobbing in the harbour, seabirds screeching overhead? The multicultural mix of people? Or the delectable food, with ingredients pulled from the waters and nearby shores? It's all of these and more, as new host Sophie Fouron discovers in Waterfront Cities of the World. Sophie, who hails from Montreal and has a background in arts and culture journalism, explores 12 vibrant cities this season. From windy Chicago, where art is effectively taking over the streets, to exotic Tangier, in the midst of shedding its drug and debauchery-tainted reputation, and Shanghai, which despite its lightning-paced lifestyle remains rooted to long-held traditions, Sophie gets to the heart and soul of each city.
Episodes
Ep 1
Chicago
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 2
Tangier
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 3
Amsterdam
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 4
Oslo
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 5
Dublin
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 6
Seoul
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 7
Los Angeles
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 8
Auckland
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 9
Cartagena
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 10
Rio de Janeiro
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 11
Mumbai
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 12
Shanghai Part 1
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 13
Shanghai Part 2
Unlimited Viewing
Chicago
Known as the windy city, Chicago is a multi-layered metropolis, both architecturally and socially.
Tangier
Sophie explores Tangier's rich cultural diversity and history.
Amsterdam
Bicycles and Amsterdam are so inseparable that bikes are said to outnumber people here.
Oslo
Once known as a sleepy city, Oslo is now a cosmopolitan and cultural hotspot.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Apr 27, 7:00pm
Thu Apr 27, 11:00pm
Fri Apr 28, 6:00pm
Sat Apr 29, 3:00pm
Sun Apr 30, 11:00pm
Mon May 1, 3:00am
Dublin
Sophie takes us on a tour of Dublin, a city that has seen an incredible resurgence of art and DIY culture.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 4, 7:00pm
Thu May 4, 11:00pm
Fri May 5, 6:00pm
Sat May 6, 3:00pm
Sun May 7, 11:00pm
Mon May 8, 3:00am
Seoul
A mega-city with a centuries-old foreign presence, Seoul is a city coming into its own.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri May 12, 6:00pm
Sat May 13, 3:00pm
Sun May 14, 11:00pm
Mon May 15, 3:00am
Los Angeles
Considered a city of reinvention, a large number of immigrants from around the world have flocked to Los Angeles to pursue their dreams, making it one of the most ethnically diverse cities in the world.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 18, 7:00pm
Thu May 18, 11:00pm
Fri May 19, 6:00pm
Sat May 20, 3:00pm
Sun May 21, 11:00pm
Mon May 22, 3:00am
Auckland
Surrounded by water and volcanoes, Auckland is an outdoor lover's paradise.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 25, 7:00pm
Thu May 25, 11:00pm
Fri May 26, 6:00pm
Sat May 27, 3:00pm
Sun May 28, 11:00pm
Mon May 29, 3:00am
Cartagena
Cartagena is slowly reclaiming its title as the Pearl of the Caribbean and the romantic capital of Latin America.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jun 2, 6:00pm
Sat Jun 3, 3:00pm
Sun Jun 4, 11:00pm
Mon Jun 5, 3:00am
Rio de Janeiro
Sophie explores the metropolis of Rio de Janeiro, with its white sand beaches, lush rainforests and green mountains.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jun 9, 6:00pm
Sat Jun 10, 3:00pm
Sun Jun 11, 11:00pm
Mon Jun 12, 3:00am
Mumbai
Mumbai is a city of stark contrasts and contradictions, where the wealthiest citizens of the country live alongside the poorest.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jun 16, 6:00pm
Sat Jun 17, 3:00pm
Sun Jun 18, 11:00pm
Mon Jun 19, 3:00am
Shanghai Part 1
At 23 million residents, Shanghai is the ultimate waterfront city. It's a megalopolis and port city that shows no signs of slowing down.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jun 23, 6:00pm
Sat Jun 24, 3:00pm
Sun Jun 25, 11:00pm
Mon Jun 26, 3:00am
Shanghai Part 2
Shanghai is a city where capitalism flourishes, but where everyday life is still rooted in traditions and culture.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jun 30, 6:00pm