Grand Tours of Scotland
Season 1: Ep: 1 "The Romantic Ideal"
Follow in the footsteps of the first tourists to Scotland! From the grandeur of the Highlands to the romantic allure of the Hebrides, host Paul Murton takes us on a series of scenic adventures suggested by the Victorian-era "Black’s Picturesque Guide to Scotland". With this well-thumbed guidebook in hand, Paul discovers how the beauty and magic of Scotland's iconic landscapes led tourism to flourish, and experiences the dubious delights of early transport, including a steam train, Shetland pony and three-wheel cycle.
Episodes
Ep 1
The Romantic Ideal
Watch Until May 13, 4:30am
Ep 2
The Sporting Life
Watch Until May 20, 4:30am
Ep 3
In Search of the Real Scotland
Watch April 27, 4:30am
Ep 4
Mind, Body and Spirit
Watch May 4, 4:30am
Ep 5
In Search of Perfect Isolation
Watch May 11, 4:30am
Ep 6
Wish You Were Here
Watch May 18, 4:30am
The Romantic Ideal
Historian Paul Murton follows in the footsteps of Victorian travellers to Scotland. He visits iconic destinations that enchanted and inspired writers, artists and tourists. (1 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 25, 4:30am
The Sporting Life
Paul Murton discovers how 19th-century Scotland's mountains and glens were a playground for rich gentlemen eager to test themselves against the forces of nature. (2 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue May 23, 2:30am
Thu Jun 1, 4:30am
In Search of the Real Scotland
For centuries, outsiders had seldom visited the beautiful landscape of the west coast of Scotland, but the power of steam changed everything. In this episode, Paul takes the Jacobite steam train to Maillaig and then crosses to the magical Isle of Skye. (3 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Apr 27, 4:30am
Tue May 30, 2:30am
Thu Jun 8, 4:30am
Mind, Body and Spirit
Paul Murton goes in search of the stunning landscape of the Highlands, which has attracted visitors for the last two hundred years. (4 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 4, 4:30am
Tue Jun 6, 2:30am
Thu Jun 15, 4:30am
In Search of Perfect Isolation
Paul Murton travels to the Northern Isles to discover how their remoteness from the mainland became a draw for tourists in search of perfect isolation. (5 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 11, 4:30am
Tue Jun 13, 2:30am
Thu Jun 22, 4:30am
Wish You Were Here
In Victorian times, a holiday was just a dream for the great mass of the population. Paul Murton traces the rise of the seaside as a worker's playground. (6 of 6)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu May 18, 4:30am
Tue Jun 20, 2:30am
Thu Jun 29, 4:30am