New
Around the World in 80 Gardens
In this 10-part series, Monty Don takes us on a grand tour of the most stunning gardens in the world. His passionate enthusiasm and expertise leads viewers on an incredible journey of discovery through South Africa, India, Japan, Central America, Europe and Australasia, as we discover the social and botanical history that influenced garden plants and design around the world.
Episodes
Ep 1
Mexico and Cuba
Watch July 13, 8:00pm
Ep 2
Australia and New Zealand
Watch July 20, 8:00pm
Ep 3
India
Watch July 27, 8:00pm
Ep 4
South America: Brazil, Aargentina and Chile
Watch August 3, 8:00pm
Ep 5
USA
Watch August 10, 8:00pm
Ep 6
China and Japan
Watch August 17, 8:00pm
Ep 7
The Med: Spain, Morocco, Italy
Watch August 24, 8:00pm
Ep 8
South Africa
Watch August 31, 8:00pm
Mexico and Cuba
World-famous gardener Monty Don visits the ancient water gardens of Mexico City and a surrealist fantasy garden hidden in the rainforest. In Cuba, Monty discovers the crumbling colonial grandeur of its urban landscape is now host to a green revolution. (1 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Jul 13, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 15, 5:00pm
Australia and New Zealand
Monty Don travels to Australia and New Zealand, two of the youngest gardening cultures in the world. (2 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Jul 20, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 22, 5:00pm
India
In India, Monty Don visits the majestic tomb gardens of the Mughal emperors, the pleasure gardens of the Hindu Maharajahs, and the famous architectural gardens at the Taj Mahal. (3 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Jul 27, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 29, 5:00pm
South America: Brazil, Aargentina and Chile
Monty Don travels to South America, home to more than 50,000 endemic plant species. Beginning in Brazil, he views the private oasis of artist Burle Marx, and takes a trip by boat to the unique floating gardens of the Amazon, before visiting the coast of Chile. (4 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 3, 8:00pm
Sat Aug 5, 5:00pm
USA
Monty Don meets garden guerrillas who are creating community gardens from derelict land in New York. In Virginia, he visits a garden that reflects the birth of the nation. (5 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 10, 8:00pm
Sat Aug 12, 5:00pm
China and Japan
Monty Don visits China and Japan, two of the world's oldest gardening cultures. (6 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 17, 8:00pm
Sat Aug 19, 5:00pm
The Med: Spain, Morocco, Italy
In Italy, Monty Don visits some of the high Renaissance gardens. He then travels to Marrakesh, where he visits the oldest continuously maintained garden in the world, and in Spain, he visits the Alhambra. (7 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 24, 8:00pm
Sat Aug 26, 5:00pm
South Africa
At Cape Town's famous Kirstenbosch Botanic Gardens, Monty Don discovers the King Proteus, South Africa's national plant. In the Drakensberg Mountains he spots some native flora in its natural environment. (8 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 31, 8:00pm