The Polar Sea | Knowledge.ca
The Polar Sea
Ep: 1 "The New Everest"
Year:
2015
Nowhere on Earth is warming as quickly as the Arctic and nowhere are the impacts as dramatic. This fascinating ten-part series follows an expedition through the legendary Northwest Passage. As we follow the expedition across the polar sea, we meet scientists trying to understand the complex phenomenon of Arctic climate change, and talented artists who are capturing the mood of the Arctic’s inevitably changing cultures.
Episodes
Ep 1
The New Everest
Watch Until February 27, 1:00pm
Ep 2
Sailing Ice
Watch Until March 6, 1:00pm
Ep 3
Legends of Food
Watch Until March 13, 1:00pm
Ep 4
Wild Science
Watch Until March 20, 1:00pm
Ep 5
Arctic Exiles
Watch February 20, 7:00pm
Ep 6
Surviving Civilization
Watch February 27, 7:00pm
Ep 7
Arctic Crossroads
Watch March 6, 7:00pm
Ep 8
Melting Land
Watch March 13, 7:00pm
Ep 9
Striking Oil
Watch March 20, 7:00pm
Ep 10
A Passage to the Future
Watch March 27, 7:00pm
The New Everest
In his quest to navigate the famed Northwest Passage, Richard Tegner, an ordinary Swedish man, heads to Greenland, where the melting glacier is changing the nation's fortunes in unforeseen ways. (1 of 10)
Sailing Ice
The voyagers must learn to navigate Arctic waters and the discomforts of long confinement in a small vessel. (2 of 10)
Legends of Food
The explorers cross Baffin Bay to land in the tiny Inuit village of Pond Inlet, where climate change has meant an unprecedented wave of tourists. (3 of 10)
Wild Science
The voyagers depart for Lancaster Sound, a land teeming with whales, birds and bears. (4 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Sun Feb 18, 1:00pm
Arctic Exiles
Crossing the Northwest Passage remains an immense challenge despite melting ice. Some explorers break down and fall back, leaving others exiled. Just such a calamity forces Richard into hitchhiking through the passage. (5 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Feb 20, 7:00pm
Wed Feb 21, 6:00pm
Wed Feb 21, 11:00pm
Sun Feb 25, 1:00pm
Surviving Civilization
Deep in the Northwest Passage we enter a surreal world where civilization has had very mixed results. (6 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Feb 27, 7:00pm
Wed Feb 28, 6:00pm
Wed Feb 28, 11:00pm
Sun Mar 4, 1:00pm
Arctic Crossroads
Late August finds our explorers at the halfway point of the Northwest Passage, racing against the return of winter. (7 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Mar 6, 7:00pm
Wed Mar 7, 6:00pm
Wed Mar 7, 11:00pm
Sun Mar 11, 1:00pm
Melting Land
Richard Tegner hitches a new and luxurious ride and sails west along a melting coast. Climate change is turning the Arctic green before our explorers' eyes and the consequences are as complex as they are frightening. (8 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Mar 13, 7:00pm
Wed Mar 14, 6:00pm
Wed Mar 14, 11:00pm
Sun Mar 18, 1:00pm
Striking Oil
Entering Alaska, the Northwest Passage transforms from wild terrain into an industrial corridor lined with oil rigs. (9 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Mar 20, 7:00pm
Wed Mar 21, 6:00pm
Wed Mar 21, 11:00pm
Sun Mar 25, 1:00pm
A Passage to the Future
Threading between the Diomede Islands - one American, the other Russian - our explorers finally exit the Bering Strait and complete the Northwest Passage. (10 of 10)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Tue Mar 27, 7:00pm
Wed Mar 28, 6:00pm
Wed Mar 28, 11:00pm
Sun Apr 1, 1:00pm
Interview
Richard Tegnér: The Arctic Hitchhiker
At the centre of The Polar Sea expedition was a Swedish architect on an old sailboat…

“The sun was shining and I said to myself, this is what I came for – to feel this huge landscape where you’re like a little mosquito in this fantastic wilderness space.”
Read Full Interview