New
Striking Balance
Ep: 1 "Long Point"
Produced in association with Knowledge Network, this documentary series goes coast-to-coast as it explores eight of our biosphere reserves. From Clayoquot Sound, where the Tla-o-qui-aht are harnessing traditional knowledge to create prosperity in their communities, to Georgian Bay, where the small-scale forestry industry has figured out a way to harvest wood without harming the threatened Blandings turtle, the people who live and work in these special places are carefully balancing ecological preservation with economic viability. Narrated by Blue Rodeo’s Jim Cuddy, the eight-part series provides an inspiring look at the natural world and our place in it.
Episodes
Ep 1
Long Point
Watch Until May 30, 2:00pm
Ep 2
Clayoquot Sound
Watch May 31, 7:00pm
Ep 3
Mont Saint-Hilaire
Watch May 3, 7:00pm
Ep 4
Bras d'Or
Watch May 10, 7:00pm
Ep 5
Georgian Bay
Watch May 17, 7:00pm
Ep 6
Redberry
Watch May 24, 7:00pm
Ep 7
Fundy
Watch June 7, 7:00pm
Ep 8
Waterton
Watch June 14, 7:00pm
Long Point
Ontario’s Long Point - the world’s longest freshwater sand spit is lush with forests and wetlands. But an invasive plant, phragmites, is its biggest threat.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Apr 27, 6:00pm
Sun Apr 30, 2:00pm
Clayoquot Sound
After years of conflict over logging in Clayoquot Sound, British Columbia, communities look to the past to learn how the environment, cultures and economies can thrive for hundreds of years to come.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed May 31, 7:00pm
Wed May 31, 11:05pm
Thu Jun 1, 6:00pm
Sun Jun 4, 2:00pm
Mont Saint-Hilaire
The old-growth forest and pristine glacial lake of Quebec’s towering Mont Saint-Hilaire are cherished by the communities that surround it, but unchecked - their growth threatens the very mountain they love.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed May 3, 7:00pm
Wed May 3, 11:00pm
Thu May 4, 6:00pm
Sun May 7, 2:00pm
Bras d'Or
On the Bras d’Or Lake in Cape Breton, oyster farming was seen as a sustainable alternative to working in coal and steel. After a parasite ravages the oyster population, both traditional Mi’kmaq knowledge and western science are being used to bring the oyster back.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed May 10, 7:00pm
Wed May 10, 11:00pm
Thu May 11, 6:00pm
Sun May 14, 2:00pm
Georgian Bay
The people of Georgian Bay, Ontario, struggle to mitigate the impact of increasing numbers of cottagers and a new four-lane highway on the region’s endangered species.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed May 17, 7:00pm
Wed May 17, 11:00pm
Thu May 18, 6:00pm
Sun May 21, 2:00pm
Redberry
Students conduct both social and scientific experiments at Redberry - a salt lake at the heart of a shrinking Saskatchewan community that's determined to thrive in the face of industrial agriculture.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed May 24, 7:00pm
Wed May 24, 11:00pm
Thu May 25, 6:00pm
Sun May 28, 2:00pm
Fundy
The Inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic Salmon is teetering on the edge of extinction, but the people of the Fundy Biosphere Reserve are determined to bring it back.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed Jun 7, 7:00pm
Wed Jun 7, 11:05pm
Thu Jun 8, 6:00pm
Sun Jun 11, 2:00pm
Waterton
Grizzly bears have been increasingly protected in Alberta since 2006, challenging the ranchers of the Waterton Biosphere Reserve to find new ways to coexist with this powerful animal.
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Wed Jun 14, 7:00pm
Wed Jun 14, 11:00pm
Thu Jun 15, 6:00pm
Sun Jun 18, 2:00pm
Extras

Clayoquot Sound: BC’s Biggest Biosphere

Discover what a biosphere is and learn about the largest one located in British Columbia: The Clayoquot Sound Biosphere Reserve. What lives there? Why is it important and how does an area be designated as a biosphere reserve? Find out here.

Read More