Waterfront Cities of the World
Season 5: Ep: 1 "Taipei"
From the ancient streets of Rome and Athens to Portland's über-hip cafes and the glittering towers of Kuala Lumpur, host Sophie Fouron takes us on a tour of some of the world's most vibrant and exciting waterfront cities. Whether perched on the edge of the sea or straddling mighty (or in some cases, muddy) rivers, they all share a sense of vitality and optimism for the future as they meet the challenges of urban living with innovative, creative solutions. Sophie delves into the heart and soul of each city as she discovers Taipei's bustling night markets, Valparaiso's prolific street art, Nantes' urban forests and gardens, and the youthful vibe of Dakar, known as the metropolis of West Africa.
Episodes
Ep 1
Taipei
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 2
Dakar
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 3
Rome
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 4
Valparaiso
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 5
Budapest
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 6
Philadelphia
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 7
Glasgow
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 8
Kuala Lumpur
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 9
Montevideo
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 10
Nantes
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 11
Toronto
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 12
Athens
Unlimited Viewing
Ep 13
Portland
Unlimited Viewing
Taipei
The political, economic and cultural capital of Taiwan is growing and modernizing at an exorbitant rate, but it's the small traditional neighbourhoods that reveal more about the soul of the city. (1 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Jul 6, 7:00pm
Thu Jul 6, 11:00pm
Fri Jul 7, 6:00pm
Sat Jul 8, 3:00pm
Sun Jul 9, 11:00pm
Mon Jul 10, 3:00am
Dakar
Known as the metropolis of West Africa, Dakar is a lively city and magnet for youth from all over the African continent. (2 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jul 14, 6:00pm
Sat Jul 15, 3:00pm
Sun Jul 16, 11:00pm
Mon Jul 17, 3:00am
Rome
Traveling through Rome's underground makes one realize this chaotic city was built on an exceptional past. (3 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jul 21, 6:00pm
Sat Jul 22, 3:00pm
Sun Jul 23, 11:00pm
Mon Jul 24, 3:00am
Valparaiso
Valparaíso suffered greatly with the opening of the Panama Canal, but in recent years it has experienced an urban renewal, a liveliness that can be felt all over the city. (4 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Jul 28, 6:00pm
Sat Jul 29, 3:00pm
Sun Jul 30, 11:00pm
Mon Jul 31, 3:00am
Budapest
Budapest is an architectural paradise and an eclectic metropolis. Thermal baths found throughout the city play an integral part of daily life. (5 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 3, 7:00pm
Thu Aug 3, 11:00pm
Fri Aug 4, 6:00pm
Sat Aug 5, 3:00pm
Sun Aug 6, 11:00pm
Mon Aug 7, 3:00am
Philadelphia
Its diverse neighbourhoods prove that Philadelphia isn't just a simple manufacturing town. It's a vibrant city where public art plays a unique role in the urban landscape. (6 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Aug 11, 6:00pm
Sat Aug 12, 3:00pm
Sun Aug 13, 11:00pm
Mon Aug 14, 3:00am
Glasgow
Glasgow's transition into a modern metropolis has had an unexpected effect: a renewal of interest in the old city. (7 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Aug 18, 6:00pm
Sat Aug 19, 3:00pm
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur's culturally rich urban centre has experienced incredible growth, allowing it to foster an original and innovative array of architecture. (8 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Fri Aug 25, 6:00pm
Sat Aug 26, 3:00pm
Sun Aug 27, 11:00pm
Mon Aug 28, 3:00am
Montevideo
Even though Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, remains divided between the haves and the have-nots, the city is united by its progressive vision of the future. (9 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Thu Aug 31, 7:00pm
Thu Aug 31, 11:00pm
Nantes
The decline of its naval base could have meant the demise of this small city on the Loire River. However, Nantes was able to bounce back and reinvent itself as a creative capital. (10 of 13)
Toronto
Often thought of as Canada's economic powerhouse, Toronto is fast becoming a vibrant cultural capital. (5 of 11)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Sat Jul 1, 11:00pm
Sun Jul 2, 2:00am
Athens
The birthplace of Western philosophy and the Olympic Games, Athens is an ancient city that has always been at the heart of the action. (12 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Sat Jul 8, 11:00pm
Sun Jul 9, 2:00am
Portland
Residents protect their natural surroundings by getting around on bikes and buying locally grown products, making Portland a unique and liveable city. (13 of 13)
Additional Broadcast Dates:
Sat Jul 15, 11:00pm
Sun Jul 16, 2:00am